Mapiq helps organizations balance their offices and their workdays. For this, reliable attendance data is key. Currently, Office Shifts shows detailed graphs with overviews of all booked shifts. But this is only half the picture. It does not mean all of these people actually showed up at the office, nor does it mean they were the only ones to show up. Additionally, having reliable attendance data gives valuable insights into how much real estate is needed, as well as the number of no-shows. With the check-in feature, the attendance data becomes more reliable.
What can you do?
- Users can manually confirm or deny that they are in the office when a shift is booked.
- Users can confirm that they are at the office without having booked a shift.
- Users can also check out of the office.
- Admins can view who has checked in through the admin portal.
- Admins can view check-in analytics available through the Analytics dashboard.
- Check-in is flagged in the API.
- The checked-in status is visualized among connections.
Accessing the admin portal
To access the admin portal, go to https://admin.mapiq.com and log in with your company account. If you receive a message informing you that you don't have the right to access it, get in touch with your Subscription administrator. They can set the proper permissions for your account. Not sure who to contact? Go to Your Profile in the top right corner, and a contact e-mail address will be shown under Questions (if properly configured by your company). Not sure what permission level you need to adjust/configure your building? Check out this article to learn more about permissions.
Enabling manual check-in
To enable the check-in feature, follow the steps below:
- Log in to https://admin.mapiq.com.
- Go to the Settings tab.
- Select Check-in in the menu on the left side.
- Toggle the button next to Manual check-in.
Congratulations! The check-in feature is live for the end-user.
Viewing the check-in data
Check-in data is visualized in the admin portal and on the end-user side. Below are a few situations that impact the visualization of check-in data. For the end-user view, please refer to this article. In the admin portal, the data is visualized on the Shifts tab. A new column is visible after the solution is enabled called Checked-in, containing either a Yes or a No value depending on whether the user has manually checked in.
The check-in status will remain Yes when a user is checked-out. Additionally, check-in data is visible in the export of the shifts selection, and remains visible in the shift history for as long as the retention period allows (see chapter Data & privacy).
Booking policies and manual check-in
The manual check-in solution is quite straightforward. After enabling the feature, users can manually check in to confirm that they are at the office. Alternatively, if they haven't booked a shift, employees can let their colleagues know they are at the office unexpectedly. Though it sounds straightforward, it is important to keep the booking policy in mind.
End-users can run into either of these two notifications in the app:
Button to acknowledge being at the office
No button to acknowledge being at the office
The button option is only available to users who can book a shift on the day itself. After pressing the button, a shift will be booked for that specific user. The following three options can prohibit the user from seeing this button, and thus being able to book a shift:
- All offices that the user has access to are full, and no shifts are available.
- The user's limit of bookable shifts has been reached.
- The organization's booking policy dictates that users are not allowed to book a shift on the day itself (see screenshot).
The selection policy prohibits users from booking on the day itself. Additionally, in the scenario where a user books a shift at the office but does not come to the office, you can also run into a booking policy problem. As seen in the screenshot above, for two of the three policies Office Shifts does not allow you to delete the booking once the day has started. Depending on the selected policy, users will be presented with one of two visuals.
The left visual is shown when an organization has enabled the booking policy 'Users can create and remove registrations even when that day has started.' This is because the I'm not coming button deletes the user's shift.
Mapiq encourages you to enable the booking policy that allows users to delete their shifts on the same day. If a user cannot come to the office, their shift can be deleted, thus freeing up that space for somebody else to book on the day itself.
Manual check-out and connections check-in
With the manual check-in feature, Office Shifts enables users to share that they are physically at the office. If a user confirms that they're at the office, a green dot will be present next to the user's avatar to indicate their attendance.
After a user checks in, their status will change to At the office in their personal overview. If a user clicks on their check-in status, they can then adjust it to Not at the office. This is considered a Check-out event, which is logged for all users. The Check-out event can only be achieved after a user has logged in to indicate that they're done working or are out of the office temporarily (e.g., lunch outside the office, a walk during their break). Adjusting the status will not free up shifts by removing their booking; it is purely a status indicator.
Data & privacy
For every check-in and check-out event, Office Shifts stores the following information:
- When the user checked in/out
- Which user checked in/out
- In which building the user checked in/out
- Gets or sets the type of event (check-in or out).
- Whether this check-in/out event was logged manually or via the API
Office Shifts uses these events to determine which users checked in at the office, and which users have or have not checked in during their shift.
This data is stored for as long as the retention period dictates, as available in the Settings tab of the admin portal.
The data stored is reflected in the applications in multiple ways:
- End-users can view their own check-in status, when this was last changed, and how (via the API or manually).
- Connections can see when their connections are checked in. This is indicated by a 'green dot' next to a connection's avatar. This is only available after a connection request has been completed.
- Administrators with access to the 'shifts tab' in the admin portal can see all shifts, both on the day and in the past. They can also see which users were/weren't checked in for those buildings' shifts.
- Administrators with access to the analytics report can see anonymized reports about check-in.
- Users with an API service account can retrieve all individual check-in events for all users within their subscription via the API.
Regarding personal data, Mapiq is the processor, whereas our client is the controller. Mapiq is not responsible for what customers do with the data.