How to set Opening Days

Optimizing a multi-building setup and managing all your locations can be challenging—especially when different buildings have different schedules. To solve this issue, we developed Opening Days. With Opening Days, an admin can set which days specific buildings, floors, and areas are open or closed. This article will explain how this works, and how you can easily set opening days yourself.


What can you do?

  1. Set the default days your building is open.
  2. Set a day or period that your buildings, floors, or areas are closed.
  3. Close multiple buildings, floors, and areas in one go. 


Accessing the admin portal

To access the admin portal, go to https://admin.mapiq.com and log in with your company account. If you receive a message informing you that you don't have the right to access it, get in touch with your Subscription administrator. They can set the proper permissions for your account. Not sure who to contact? If properly configured by your company, you can also go to Your Profile in the top right corner and a contact e-mail address will be shown under Questions. Not sure what permission level you need to adjust/configure your building? Check out this article to learn more about permissions.


Set opening days

Watch our video below to get started. For more detailed instructions, read through the complete article.


Building

To set your opening days, you will need to create a new building or choose an existing building. If you have an existing building, select it from all the buildings in the left menu and click on the building name in the building overview. Once selected, the screen shown below will pop up on the right-hand side of the screen. When you create a new building, this screen will also be shown automatically.

Here you can define which days you want your building to be open. Days when the building is open are visualized by a blue circle around the day. Days when the building is closed are visualized by being colored gray and crossed out.

Open
Closed

In the visual above, you can also see the option Schedule additional closed days. Here you can select specific days when your office will be closed—like for a national holiday or a period of renovation.


Schedule additional closed days

Where the Opening Days function defines the default days when your building is open, Schedule additional closed days allows you to close your building(s), floor(s), and/or area(s) on a specific day or period. You can access the feature either by clicking on the Schedule additional closed days button located beneath the opening days, or navigating to the Access tab and scrolling down until you see Additional closed days.

Follow the steps below to close your building(s), floor(s), or area(s) on certain days:

  1. Click on Edit on the right side of the Additional closed days section.
  2. You now have the option to adjust any existing closed day, or add a new section by clicking + Add closed day.
    The table is sorted by date, so the first event is always on top. The Date, Location(s), and Reason columns contain required information about your closed days. The Note column is not mandatory.
  3. Start by selecting a day or period in which you want to close your building(s), floor(s), or area(s). Simply click on a time in the Date column and the calendar view should pop up. You can select either a single day or a multi-day period in which you want to close your building.
  4. You will need to define a starting and ending date for your closure. By clicking once on a day, you select that location to be closed for a single day. In order to create a multi-day period during which your area will be closed, the first click will set the start date and the second click will set the end date.  A single day is visualized by a full circle. A period longer than a single day is represented by two half-circles with a darkened background that spans the length of the period.
    Single day
    Period
  5. Click Confirm to save the time period of your closed days.
  6. Now that you set your period, you can define what building(s), floor(s), or area(s) you want to close. Click on Edit locations under the Location(s) columns.
  7. A menu with a multi-level overview of your building will pop up. By unfolding and checking the checkbox in front of each building, floor, or area, you can select it to be closed. You can also select All buildings to select all the buildings within your environment.
  8. A selection is visualized in three ways. A full check mark, meaning a specific building, floor, or area is selected. In the case of a floor or area, this also includes all the nested floors and areas. A blue dash indicates that a nested floor or area within the building is selected for closure. If the checkbox is empty, nothing is selected.
    All is selected
    A selection of nested floor(s)/area(s)
    Nothing is selected
    Note that when you select All buildings to be closed, it will not automatically close new buildings that are added later. In this case, you will receive a warning message as shown below. Add new buildings by editing the location in the closed days section.
  9. Now that the day/period and location(s) of your closed days have been defined, you can give a bit more context by providing a reason for the closure in the Reason column.
  10. If the reason is not specific enough, you can add a note for clarification under the Note column. The reason and the note won't be visible to users.
  11. Once you're finished inputting your closed days, if bookings have already been made in that specific building, floor, or area, then a calendar icon will appear next to the Edit locations button, in the Locations column. Hovering over this icon informs the admin how many shifts are going to be deleted when these days are set for closure.
  12. If you're happy with your closed days' configuration, save your changes by clicking the Save button in the top right corner of the Additional closed days section.
  13. You will again receive a message stating the number of shifts that will be deleted. Press Remove shifts to publish the closed days and delete these shifts.
    As of right now, no notification will be sent to users whose shifts will be deleted. A notification system is being developed but is not in place yet. For clarity, let your users know that their shift has been deleted to prevent users from coming to your building when it is closed.
T
Thijs is the author of this solution article.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.