Once the Subscription or Building administrators have successfully configured the building, it is still in a draft version. Mapiq Office Shifts lets you review and finally publish your building, so it is available to the employees in the application. The review process ensures that your building is not published with any issues or conflicts in its configuration.
After a Subscription or Building administrator makes a change to the building, a new draft is created. This new draft will become the new starting point for other administrators when further changes are made to the building.
What can you do?
- Review the building for any issue or conflict.
- Get redirected to where to fix the issue with a simple click.
- Fix the issue or conflict.
- Publish the building to be used by your employees in the application.
Accessing the admin portal
To access the admin portal, go to https://admin.mapiq.com and log in with your company account. If you receive a message informing you that you don't have the right to access it, get in touch with your Subscription administrator. They can set the proper permissions for your account. Not sure who to contact? Go to 'Your Profile' in the top right corner and a contact e-mail address will be shown under 'Questions' (if properly configured by your company).
Not sure what permission level you need to adjust/configure your building? Check out this article to find out all about permissions.
Issues and conflicts
Before you review the building, it is good to know the difference between Issues and Conflicts. In what situation will you encounter them, and how to solve them. The resolution depends on the detected issue or conflict. Mapiq Office Shifts indicates what is the error and gives you a suggestion on how to resolve it.
- A building configuration issue that will prevent you from publishing your building until the issues are resolved.
An example would be a desk group that is placed outside the area boundaries.
- Warns that a change that is about to be done could result in difficulties for the end-user. It will not prohibit you from publishing the building, but it is recommended to resolve the conflict directly after or prior to publishing. A conflict can only appear in an already existing building.
An example of a conflict would be decreasing the capacity of a building/floor/area to a number lower than the shifts already booked on it. In this situation, the conflict will be that more shifts are booked than the capacity allows.
Conflicts were already 'part' of Office Shifts. The example given above, is a great example of what many Administrators were not always aware of. The Conflicts now give the administrator a warning of how some actions will impact the employees. Always be mindful when publishing changes with conflicts.
Review your building
Once your building configuration is completed, it is time to review your draft and make it ready to be published. By doing so, your building is free from any possible conflict or issue in its configuration. So how do you do it?
- After you are finished with configuring your building, go back to the Buildings tab.
- Navigate to the building you want to review and select the building by clicking on it. In the current view, an overview of your building is visible.
- Above the building overview, there is a Review & Publish button visible, adjacent to it an indicator is shown highlighting if your building has any errors.
- In case there is no issue detected with the building, it will show a green checkmark and indicate No issues. No adjustments are needed, and if you are happy with your configuration, you are ready to publish.
- In case an issue or conflict is detected, it will show a red exclamation mark and the number of issues and/or conflicts detected.
- Click on either the Issues or Review & Publish button to open the Review changes menu that shows you an overview of the encountered issues and conflicts.
- In the Review changes menu, an overview of the issues and conflicts is shown. Per issue or conflict, an explanatory message is given, either on how to resolve it (Issues) or how the change will impact employees (Conflicts).
- For issues, click on the specific issue to get redirected to the map and resolve it. Check out our Adding a map or How to add desks articles to help you along with making adjustments in the map editor.
- The error messages are also shown in the map editor to give you the suggestion on how to resolve the issue directly in the affected configuration.
The issue indicator is also active when you are busy configuring your building. So in theory, you are already reviewing your building while you are configuring it. Note that it might take a few seconds to process the changes made.
- After fixing the issues in the map editor, press the Done button in the top right corner to finalize the changes.
Publish your building
Now that all the issues are fixed, it is time to publish your building to the rest of the company.
- Go to the building overview of the building you want to publish.
- Click on the Review & Publish button in the top right corner.
- Just to be sure, check if all the issues are resolved and you are aware of any possible conflicts.
- Now click on the Publish button in the bottom right corner of the Review changes menu.
- It will take a few seconds to process all the changes, but if published successfully, you should see a confirmation message as shown below.
- After publishing the building, it is visible and bookable for your employees through the Office Shifts app.
If you are curious how your employees can book their shift with a map and desks added to your building configuration, take a look at our Using Mapiq's Office Shifts article.
In the Review changes menu, you also have the option to Discard changes. Discarding your changes will discard all the changes that are unpublished. It will go back to the latest published version.
- When clicking on the Discard changesbutton, another message pops up asking if you really want to proceed with discarding your changes.
- If you proceed by clicking Yes, discard you need to give final approval by typing the line Discard all changes followed by pressing the Delete button.
Be aware that when discarding all changes, you will potentially also remove changes made by other Subscription and Building administrators. So, make sure everybody within your organization is aware of the changes being discarded, unless you are a 100% certain that you are the only one that made these changes.