Set up your building

 

Office Shifts allows you to create your building on a digital platform. An accurate configuration of your building creates a representative digital model which allows your employees to find a suitable working spot in a matter of seconds!

In order to configure your building, you will need to be a Subscription administrator or Building administrator. In this article, we'll explain how you can create your building. You can find step-by-step guides on how to add more details, like a map or desks, in other articles.


What can you do?

  1. Create a building.
  2. Determine the desired level of detail, add floors and areas.
  3. Set a safe capacity for your office.
  4. Give a clear name to your building and areas.
  5. Add, delete or adjust buildings, floors, and areas.
  6. Save your building as a draft, and come back to it later.
  7. Review your changes and publish whenever you are ready to go live.

Accessing the admin portal

To access the admin portal, go to https://admin.mapiq.com and log in with your company account. If you receive a message informing you that you don't have the right to access it, get in touch with your Subscription administrator. They can set the proper permissions for your account. Not sure who to contact? Go to 'Your Profile' in the top right corner and a contact e-mail address will be shown under 'Questions' (if properly configured by your company). Not sure what permission level you need to adjust/configure your building? Check out this article to find out all about permissions.


Configure your building

Add building

  1. Log in to https://admin.mapiq.com.
  2. Go to the Buildings tab.
  3. On the right side, you'll see a list of all your buildings. If this is your first time configuring, no information is shown.
  4. Click on +Add building.
  5. A new window is shown on the right side, fill in your building name and set a safe capacity, press on Done to create the building.
  6. Congratulations, your building is created. The building overview is automatically updated with the number of floors, areas, hotdesks, and bookable desks when configured.
Don't know your total capacity (yet)? No worries, it's not mandatory to fill it in. Ultimately, the total capacity will be determined by summing up the capacity of the underlying floors and areas. In this case, the capacity set at the building level is overwritten. Not planning to add floors and/or areas? Then ensure a safe capacity is set.

Add floors

  1. Select your newly created building.
  2. Click on the button + Add floor above the building details
  3. A new window opens up on the right side of your screen. Select the floor number you want to configure and set a safe capacity for the floor.
  4. Note that you are also able to set Areas and add a Map if you want, for now, press Done. Areas can be added later.
  5. A floor is added below the general overview of your building. 
  6. Repeat the steps above if you want to add multiple floors.
Note that you also have the possibility to add a map, adding a map is covered in a different article. Follow this link to check it out.

Add areas

  1. Select the building created and the floor you want to add areas on.
  2. When hovering with your mouse over the general overview of your building or floor, the background color changes. Select the floor you want to add the areas to by clicking on it. Do not press the + add map option yet, that is covered in this article.
  3. The same menu as when adding a floor opens up. Now click on + Add area.
  4. The button + Add area moves down, and you are now able to add the area. Give the area a clear name.
  5. Set a safe capacity if you don't want to add desks.
  6. Note that the number of areas increased with 1 in both the floor and the building overview.
  7. Add more areas by repeating the steps above.
Tip! We frequently see that areas are named after specific departments, mainly because this is very descriptive.
Add building and then floor
 
Add area

Adjusting & deleting

Adjust your building

Making adjustments within your building is very easy. Simply navigate to the Buildings tab and select the building, underlying floor, or area. The same menus that were used to create the building are shown. In these menus, you can adjust your building accordingly.

Be aware when adjusting your capacity, specifically when lowering the capacity in your building. Any reservations made prior to the capacity change will not be removed. To ensure no overbooking occurs, plan in your changes beforehand or manually remove shifts prior to the change. Reservations are only removed when a building is completely deleted.

Delete buildings, floors, and areas

If, for whatever reason, a building or any of its components needs to be deleted, you can do so by navigating to the specific building and performing respective actions per component.

Areas
  1. Navigate to the area you want to delete.
  2. Press the trash icon behind the area name.
  3. Confirm the deletion in the pop-up that appears.
Floor
  1. Navigate to the floor you want to delete.
  2. Scroll down in the floor menu and click on Delete floor.
  3. Confirm the deletion in the pop-up that appears.
  4. Note that potential areas within that floor are also deleted.
Buildings
  1. Navigate to the building you want to delete.
  2. Click on the building overview.
  3. Click on Delete building.
  4. Confirm the deletion in the pop-up that appears.
  5. Note that the complete building is deleted.

Adding a map and desks

Besides the standard building, floor and areas, you can also opt for adding a map and desks, giving you just that extra level of detail needed. You can find the separate articles explaining both of these functionalities below. Click on the links to get redirected to the correct article.

T
Thijs is the author of this solution article.

Did you find it helpful? Yes No

Send feedback
Sorry we couldn't be helpful. Help us improve this article with your feedback.